top of page
  • Writer's pictureMads

To the Best Friends You Lived With in College





To the best friends you lived with in college,

These guys are everything. They are the laughter when you've had none. Your smile when you can’t see the bright side. They are your favorite song turned up to 30 in the car with the windows down.




They are your favorite late night deep talks and even your guilty mid day gossip sessions. They are the dance parties in the living room at 3am.



They're the laughter that makes your stomach ache and eyes water. They are even the best midnight sonic runs this world has ever seen. They are your whole heart. your crutch, your home base, they are YOUR people.



We all have different kinds of best friends and we all love them dearly for different reasons. I want to specifically write to the best friends you’ve lived with. The ones you would get annoyed with when they were being too loud or left the light on too late. The ones who would get annoyed with you for having an alarm clock that would wake up the whole house and a bad habit of forgetting the clothes in the dryer. The ones that at the end of the day loved you anyways because they were who you did life with. The ones you would spend every second with then beg for some alone time, but moments later you would find yourself barging into their room without knocking and flopping onto their bed.



These friends, gosh, these guys are special. They're not your typical "I know your birthday by heart and favorite color" best friends. They know way more, probably even a little too much. They know what size clothes you wear because most likely some of it somehow ended up in their closet from the wash. They know you talk to yourself when you think no one is listening, and they even know where you hide your "super secret" candy stash you thought no one would ever find. They were there you when you got that A+ in your hardest class and you've got a smile so big your cheeks hurt, but they've also been there when you have been burned out and can't stop crying for no reason at all. And you probably thank God they were there for both.


Today, I sit in a new apartment lacking my people. The ones who knew I couldn’t stand dishes in the sink and cleaned with an obsessive amount of bleach. They knew that when my door was closed it still meant I wanted them to come in and sit with me. I miss them getting me out of bed when I don’t want to, and giving me a wild adventure every single day I could plan on. It’s hard especially on the tough days, but it’s also hard not having my biggest fan club on the best days.









Doing life through the phone is not the same, but I will take it. I am so thankful. So thankful for all they have given me. I miss living with them and seeing their faces everyday, but our moments in that house were special and I think having limited time made it even more worth while.



So my advice? Share this post with these friends, call them often, tell them you appreciate them. Do whatever you need to do to make sure they know their value because these people are your soulmates that never get easier to live without.


P.S. I'M SO BLESSED,

to have friends like Megs and Hope.

55 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page